The atrocious occurrence of the The Deepwater Horizon oil spill, better known as the BP oil spill, took place back in April 2010, killing 11 people and destroying a devastating amount of marine and wildlife habitats.

Almost two years later, the Gulf states of Texas, Louisiana, Mississippi, Alabama and Florida have some hope. This week, The Senate approved that the water pollution fines go to these states for restoration.

The BP oil spill was the largest accidental marine oil spill in the history of the petroleum industry.

Discover more information here
Senate clears measure to divert water pollution fines from BP spill to Gulf states

Senate approves amendment giving Gulf states 80 percent of BP spill fines